New Wheels and Tires In: 10th Anniversary Cobra 4 Lug Wheels

The new wheels are in. They are the OE Wheels 10th Anniversary Cobra style 4 lug wheels, staggered fitment 17×9 & 17×10. While I originally considered and was leaning toward a 5 lug conversion and FR500 wheels, I ultimately decided to stay 4 lug so that I can switch back to the OE Turbines if I wanted to. Again, the car was in such good original condition, I don’t want to stray to far out.

There was some concern regarding fit so my pops and I decided to test fit them. The 17X10 rears were very close to the inner fender and actually hit the quad shocks. The front wheels were actually touching the a arms but we decided to go forward with buying tires.

For the tires, I wanted to buy some good tires since I won’t be putting too many miles on them and expect to have them for quite some time. I was disappointed when I bought tires for my 06 GT, Toyo Proxes 4 were my preference but I was told they did not come in the size I wanted. This time, my dad checked and his tire outfitter did have the tires. We picked up 255/40/17 and 275/40/17 Toyo Proxes4. They look really good and the tread is very attractive. My wife’s TL has the same tires and I think they are outstanding. I had considered picking up the Sumitomo HTR3s but they would have been just a little cheaper. I am very happy with the tire choice.

Lastly, I am coming to the end of the mechanical and restoration first phase before the car needs to get painted and the trim and weatherstripping gets addressed. I have the new cooling hoses, the radiator fan. I just need to pick up a new thermostat, gasket and coolant for that part. Oh and I still need the overflow tank. Then I need to pick up this sagging suspension with some new springs and shocks. I’m having lots of fun. Can’t wait till it’s all done! Thanks to my wife for her support and to my dad who is with me every step of the way. Oh and I think I’m gonna put my son’s car seat in there in case we feel the need to cruise around!

This entry was posted in Mod Want List:, Upgrades. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

